If you attend college, you could encounter many challenges. Some students accused of wrongdoing face harsh consequences, whether a fight breaks out or they face charges due to possessing unlawful substances. In fact, underage drinking is widespread on college campuses and carries harsh penalties.
If you are facing charges related to underage drinking, you need to understand the potential repercussions of these charges and how they could impact your life. Moreover, make sure you carefully review your options with respect to handling the case, especially if certain details could prove your innocence or lead to a more favorable outcome.
The financial consequences of underage drinking charges
According to the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission, it is against the law for people in Texas to drink if they are under the age of 21. Many college students find themselves in this group and face pressure from their friends to drink at parties. In Texas, if a minor drinks or even tries to buy alcohol, they could face up to $500 in fines.
Moreover, if someone over 17 but under 21 faces underage drinking charges for the third time, they could face up to $2,000 in fines. Selling alcohol to a minor can result in a $4,000 fine.
Other consequences associated with underage drinking
Aside from financial penalties, you could have to spend up to 180 days behind bars, perform community service, participate in an alcohol awareness program and lose your driver’s license. These charges could also lead to problems regarding your ability to attend college. If you are in this position, closely go over your options.